Winter TBR // Holiday Romance + Rereading

Hi friends!

As I mentioned in my last discussion post I often feel guilty about rereading so I decided to dedicate winter 2020/2021 (basically December and January) to rereading!

I’m probably being a little ambitious with this list, but I usually fly through rereads and I have nothing else to do because ~pandemic~ so let’s go ahead and be ambitious shall we.

But it’s also the holiday season and so many good holiday/winter romances have caught my eye this year so I plan on balancing out my rereads with some holiday books to fit the vibes. Again this list might be ambitious but most of these books are short and in general I find romances to be fast reads so we’ll see how this goes 🤡

Holiday Reads

Booked for Christmas by Lily Menon

In case you haven’t heard Sandhya Menon (author of the Dimple and Rishi series has an adult rom-com (Make Up Break Up) coming out Feb. 2, 2021! This short Christmas novella is the perfect way to get excited especially since it includes a special excerpt from the novel!

Synopsis: The last person Sophia Hart expected at her annual Christmas party was the book critic who takes joy in ripping apart her romance novels. But when Evan Wolfe gets stranded at her cabin by a sudden snowstorm they might learn they’re not so different at all.

Wrapped Up In You by Talia Hibbert

Talia has officially joined the ranks of insta-buy for me after I read and loved Chloe and Dani Brown’s books so I have no doubt this holiday book will be everything I want and more!

Synopsis: William Reid is nothing special, except for his billion-dollar acting career and his, you know, face. But this Christmas, he has more important goals in mind… like finally winning over his best friend’s little sister.

Merry Inkmas by Talia Hibbert

Like I said, Talia Hibbert is now someone who I want to read her entire backlist so I figure why not start with one of her old holiday romances?

Synopsis: Cash Evans has come a long way since his troubled childhood, but all the wealth he’s earned as a tattoo artist can’t fix the hole in his heart. He knows that the sweet barista who haunts his dreams is off-limits… But life doesn’t always go to plan.

Bailey Cooper is determined to learn from her mother’s mistakes. She’s seen how cruel love can be, and she’s not about to sacrifice her self-respect for a relationship. But when a bad boy with a heart of gold comes to her rescue, she finds herself wondering if this beast might just be her Prince Charming.

In a Holidaze by Christina Lauren

As I was writing up this list, my library came through with my hold for this book and I immediately flew through it over the weekend. It is everything I’ve come to expect from Christina Lauren with the added bonus of Christmas traditions and a winter cabin!

Synopsis: It’s the most wonderful time of the year…but not for Maelyn Jones. Mae throws out what she thinks is a simple plea to the universe: Please. Show me what will make me happy. The next thing she knows, everything goes black. But when Mae gasps awake…she’s beginning the same holiday all over again. Mae must figure out how to break free of the strange time loop—and finally get her true love under the mistletoe.

Christmas Fix by Lucy Score

I really enjoyed The Price of Scandal and By a Thread so I thought I’d check out one of her old Christmas romances! (She also has a new release called The Mistletoe Kisser which is part of her Blue Moon series that I might read too 👀)

Synopsis: When a late season hurricane hits Merry, Connecticut, city manager and single dad Noah Yates cancels the Christmas Festival. But home renovation expert Catalina King is ready and willing to put Merry back in Christmas mode with a holiday special that will leave everyone believing in miracles. Even if Noah insists on standing in her way.

One Way or Another by Kara McDowell

As someone with a lot of anxiety who struggles making decisions this book immediately caught my eye not to mention the thought of parallel storylines is intriguing and I’d like to see how it plays out!

Synopsis: Paige Collins lives in debilitating fear of making the wrong choice. That’s why when Paige is presented with two last-minute options for Christmas vacation, she’s paralyzed by indecision. But then fate steps in — in the form of a slippery grocery store floor — and Paige’s life splits into two very different parallel paths. One path leads to New York while the other leads to the mountains where Paige might finally get her chance with Fitz . . . until her anxiety threatens to ruin everything.

Holiday with the Wongs by Jackie Lau

This was a whim purchase thanks to a thread on twitter highlighting book deals and holiday books and this one caught my eye and I can’t wait to dive in!

It’s a four book set following the Wong siblings through the holidays, specifically Thanksgiving, Christmas, Chinese New Year, and Valentine’s Day. Nick has only ever been interested in one night stands until he can’t get Lily Tseng out of his head. Greg is still hung up on his high school sweetheart who he gets stranded at a motel with on the way home for the holidays. Zach attempts to avoid his parent’s meddling with a fake girlfriend. Amber thinks she’s found the perfect no-strings-attached hookup, but if her parents find out it would be a disaster.

Mind the Gap, Dash & Lily by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares is one of my fave holiday rereads (and Twelve Days of Dash and Lily) so when I heard there was a new book AND a Netflix series it had to go on the list!

Synopsis: After Dash gets accepted to Oxford University and Lily stays in New York to take care of her dogwalking business, the devoted couple are struggling to make a long distance relationship work. So Lily makes a decision: if Dash can’t come to her for Christmas, she’ll join him in London. It’s a perfect romantic gesture…that spins out of Lily’s control. Will London bring them together again–or will it be their undoing?

Rereads

(pls ignore the fact these are all series 💀)

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

This series has been on my reread list since the first movie came out and then it got bumped up the list last year when I finally got my own copy but then covid happened before I got around to it and I proceeded to leave my copy behind 😭 BUT NOW IS THE TIME let’s see if Lara Jean still has my whole heart and if I’m TeamPeter or TeamJohnAmbrose this time around.

The Selection by Kiera Cass

With all the hype about the new books I wanted to revisit the og trilogy because I remember really enjoying it but I don’t think I’ve ever reread it.

Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter

I’m going to be honest and admit that I love this series but also have yet to finish it 🥴 I have reread the first four books countless times but haven’t managed to finish the series so I’m hoping this time will do the trick.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

I hope there’s never a day that this series doesn’t hold a very soft place in my heart 🥺 The last time I reread this series was in 2018 when I listened to it on audio (and I’m not even 100% sure I finished the series???) so I think it’s high time I reread it again (only time will tell if I decide to go down the rabbit hole and read the following two series aka 10 more books 🤡)

Bonus Rereads

These are ones I’d love to reread, but I’ve read them fairly recently so they’re at the bottom of the list

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

Did I just read this trilogy last year? Yes, yes I did. Have I been fighting the urge to reread it all of 2020? Yes, yes I have. So it might not be at the top of my reread tbr but it has to be included.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Could I use this time to read my copy of Shadow and Bone and expand my knowledge of the Grishaverse before the tv series? Yes, I could, but instead I would rather revisit my favorite rag-tag group of criminals.

Heist Society by Ally Carter

This isn’t at the top of the list not but I have a feeling once I finish the Gallagher Series I’ll be in the mood for this series and what’s three more books on this insane list 😂

✨What’s your favorite holiday book to read? What holiday books are you looking forward to reading this season?

💫 Do you enjoy rereading? What’s your favorite book to reread?

2 thoughts on “Winter TBR // Holiday Romance + Rereading

Leave a comment