Sour Book Recs // 27+ Books for 11 Songs

This rec list was fully inspired by peachnace who created a Sour Book Tag on Youtube and as soon as I saw it I was like how did I not think of doing a rec list for Sour like I did for Taylor back in January (link here).

So definitely check out peachnace’s video and while I did take into consideration some of her prompts like Deja Vu, 1 step forward 3 steps back, and hope ur ok (kind of) I included recs for every song either based off specific lyrics or the overall vibe of the song!

I’m not really intending on this being a tag thing (I’ve never created one before so I’m not even sure how that works) but if this post inspires you to rec your own books I’d love to see it!

This song channels angry teenage girl energy, v rage against the machine/patriarcy/society and these books all came to mind for different reasons.

Legendborn by Tracy Deonn // Bree is an angry and grieving teenage girl who not only is going up against systemic racism, but also the whole set-up for the round table society situation and she is a badass who is given the space to feel her feels while also dismantling so many oppressive systems. I seriously just love Bree so much and I can’t wait to see her story continue.

A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow by Laura Taylor Namey // This book was so soft and holds such a special place in my heart and Lila definitely comes to mind as fitting the vibe of this song because she’s going through so much and having to confront the scary reality of growing up all while grieving and recovering from heartbreak.

Wings of Ebony by J. Elle // These lyrics feel all too perfect for Rue’s story because again it’s a teenage girl angry at the world and her circumstances and being told to basically get over it and her being like how about ✨no✨

For this song I was thinking about a book that didn’t meet my expectations and this book immediately came to mind!

Frankly in Love by David Yoon

Other people will probably love this book and not have the issues I had with it, but I just found myself disappointed. I was so excited and I am a sucker for fake dating, but I didn’t love the main character’s voice which is already always a problem when reading a book like this but then there was also too many things happening. There was a shooting, cancer diagnosis, parental death, family secrets, and yes there was fake dating because of parental disapproval and just a nice healthy dose of racism/prejudice. I think what really lost me though is the cheating which is always just a no go for me and automatically gives me the ick because yeah is cheating something that happens and do teenagers make mistakes? Yes, but I don’t need it in my fiction. So yeah I had high hopes for this book and felt a little betrayed hence putting it for this rec but I definitely think it has it’s readership out there and hope that people find it and love it even though it wasn’t for me!

So in terms of bookish recs this song made me think of like first bookish loves and those books that have just really stuck with you, BUT you could also do a book that just broke your heart whether that’s a good or bad thing.

Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli // It’s kind of hard to explain why exactly this book holds such a special place in my heart, but I think it’s because it was one of the first times I read a book about being yourself no matter what other people say/think and just being confident in your beliefs.

Looking for Alaska by John Green // Listen I love John Green and he just has lines that hit and this book just really captured my attention both in Pudge looking for his purpose and kind of the meaning of life almost and those general coming of age questions and also Alaska who was so much more than Pudge or anyone else ever realized.

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen // I give Sarah Dessen full credit for getting me hooked on YA contemporary romance particularly ones where the main characters are going through it™ but of all her books this one stands out the most.

I agreed with peachnace that this song feels perfect for a book you have a love hate relationship with because that’s just the overall vibe, but you could also do books that feature love-hate relationships.

The Ex Talk by Rachel Lynn Solomon // The love hate for this book comes from the fact that I loved the first 80% or so, but from the third act breakup through the end I was just disappointed if not outright upset because I just wanted so much more.

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera // Listen, this one’s on me. I was naïve enough to hope that the title was a lie or like a red herring. It wasn’t 💀 So yeah loved the book, hated the ending but y’know live and learn (or not).

Instructions for Dancing by Nicola Yoon // I just — this book hurt me but like in the best possible way? I don’t know I think this book might haunt me forever, but it was also soooo good.

I mean c’mon a retelling better than original just makes sense for this song.

These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

Listen what kind of rec list would this be (from me at least) if I didn’t include TVD? I’ve read a lot of retellings over the years, some of which I might not even realize are retellings 😅 but this definitely is the first that comes to mind for good reason.

When I was looking at the songs for this rec list I just thought how this one made me think of how I feel about hyped books that I don’t plan on reading (aka good for the stans but not for you) and these immediately came to mind 👀

I understand why these books are popular and I’m not saying I’ll *never* read them because there was a time I didn’t plan on reading Six of Crows and now look at me so we shall see but at the current I just don’t see the appeal of these books but good for you if you love them!

I was thinking about books, particularly fandoms that you used to be a dedicated part of but can’t keep up with any longer or no longer want to be a part of.

I was really into the Shadowhunters series and fandom, but then the series just spiraled out of control and beyond what I expected and I just didn’t have the energy to keep up and honestly don’t see myself returning to it.

I LOVE PJO (in case you’re new here and weren’t aware), but I’ve hit a point where I no longer really need to be part of the fandom and I definitely don’t need to keep on top of all of the new releases, but more than likely I will return to this universe when I have the time.

Like most people in my young Millenial age range I loved Harry Potter and the fandom and all of the fan content that was produced and I think I’m coming to terms with that still holding a special place in my heart, but the books really don’t hold up and also the author just 🥴

Underhyped book or series that you want others to read but also kind of want to keep to yourself.

Firebird Trilogy by Claudia Gray // I really need more people to read the firebird trilogy because I somehow have yet to find anyone else who has read them to talk about them to, but also like I love the special feeling of these books that are kind of to yourself? But seriously this trilogy has friends to enemies to lovers while exploring the multiverse, seeking revenge, and sinister plots spanning dimensions. Also I’m obsessed with these covers.

Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin // Okay, so I have a faint memory of these hitting the mainstream when they came out like 10 years ago so I guess they’re not really “underhyped” but these books feel like a fugue dream to me and I really just remember vague plot points and vibes but it immediately came to mind when I was thinking of the prompt for this song.

Again I thought of two prompts for this song, but there is also overlap if you so choose: a book with an mc you’re jealous of or a book dealing with insecurity, self-esteem, self-love, etc.

Fat Chance, Charlie Vega by Crystal Maldonado // I really loved the journey that Charlie went through in this story of self-love and confidence. Like that’s what has stuck with me since reading this book and is my main reason for why people should pick it up. If you’re looking for a story about overcoming insecurity and a world of odds stacked against you than this is worth the shot.

Take a Hint, Dani Brown by Talia Hibbert // Listen, I just want to be Dani Brown when I grow up and if I find my own Zaf along the way even better.

Gallagher Girls by Ally Carter // I 100% wanted to be Cammie when I grew up and honestly I still kind of do because she feels invisible and out of place often, but learns out to use that to her advantage. Then there’s the fact that she’s a badass teenage spy

A toxic relationship that you lowkey love as in there are some red flags and you probs wouldn’t support in real life, but in a book you love it

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo // I think the reason I’m such a simp for Kaz and Inej is because I am a simp for Inej period and I’m like yeah makes sense that the only person Kaz truly loves is her because same.

Haven by Rebekah Weatherspooon // To be fair all the relationships in this series are at least a touch toxic BUT they also all acknowledge it and have open communication about how fucked up their situations are and time passes and therapy is had so like it’s fairly reasonable but still if someone in real life told me they were getting into a relationship like these I would be like no girl run for the hills 🏃🏼‍♀️

Caraval by Stephanie Garber // Honestly, these relationships are by far the most toxic of this list but they hooked me and I’m just like but it’s love 😍 Don’t look at me I’m disappointed in me too, but that’s not going to stop me from rereading these books and eagerly waiting the next series in this universe

A book with a lot of angst or or childhood friends to lovers

May the Best Man Win by ZR Ellor // I think something that deserves more attention in this book is the fact that Jeremy and Lukas were friends long before they dated and then the depth and intensity of their relationship before their eventual break-up. Throughout the story they both experience a lot of conflicting feelings toward each other where even though they’re competing and even sabotaging each other they also hope the other is doing okay and taking care of themselves.

A Pho Love Story by Loan Le // This song feels like it fits the vibe at the beginning of this book before the characters reconnect because they are both reminiscing and romanticizing their childhood encounter and wondering how they’ve both grown up and changed and wondering just how they’re doing and then life brings them together again to answer that question.

💫 Have you listened to Sour yet? What was your fave song on the album? What’s your fave prompt on this list?

5 thoughts on “Sour Book Recs // 27+ Books for 11 Songs

  1. I’ve been listening to Sour up and down lately, so these book recs came just at the right moment. I loved seeing how you paired the titles with the songs and am not sure I would have always seen the connection right away. I’m very curious to dive into some of those deeper. Great post!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment